Frequently Asked Questions

Here are answers to the most common questions on prosthetic implants.

  • Is the process painful?

    This is the most common question asked about implants. Of all of the surgical techniques developed in prosthetic dentistry, bone integrated implants are by far the less painful and easiest to insert because the technique is gentle and highly accurate.

    Inserting dental implants does not require major surgery. The pain and postoperative symptoms are equivalent to those of having a few teeth removed. A vast majority of patients having undergone treatment describe the postoperative period as non-painful..

     

  • Are implants good for life?

    The first patient to receive bone integrated implants—Gösta Larsson—received them in 1965 and his original implants were still in place when he died in 2005. Since then, millions of patients have benefited from implant treatments. This experience makes the Brånemark method one of the most tried and tested leading-edge medical techniques in the world.

    However, patients must be aware that 30-year predictions do not have the same significance at age 60 than they may have at age 20! Several more decades of study will be needed before making credible lifetime predictions. However, realistically, we can at least hope that bone integrated implants will render several decades of good service if they were inserted under optimal conditions and are properly maintained. Based on current experience, a majority of patients’ implants will last them their entire lifetime.

    However, as is the case with any prosthesis (or natural teeth for that matter!), bone integrated implants may wear down or break and need to be periodically repaired or replaced.

    N.B. The cost of the initial treatment does not include maintenance.

     

  • How much do the treatments cost?

    The Canadian health insurance system does not cover the cost of prosthetic implants.

    Costs vary significantly depending on the type of treatment. It is important that you gather in advance all of the relevant information on the costs of the different treatments available. Certain treatment steps may be reimbursable under dental insurance programs. Also, in most cases, dental care costs are income tax deductible.

    For most people, personal wellbeing is a natural and legitimate priority. Restoring your smile through dental implantology represents a long-term investment in your health and wellbeing. When taking into account the costs of alternative conventional treatments, amounts reimbursed by insurance companies (if applicable), tax deductions and financing plans, implants represent an affordable option for most patients.

     

  • Are your dental prosthesis making you suffer?

    Dental implantology can easily eliminate the problems caused by an unstable prosthesis. Free yourself from pain, ulcers, smooth diets, embarrassment in public or in intimacy, problems chewing, digesting or speaking, muscular stress and premature ageing of the face that results from atrophying jaws (significant gum recession).

     

  • What advantages do these treatments provide?

    These treatments provide several advantages: the pleasure of eating your favourite meals safely and without experiencing pain, normal mastication and digestion, an improved and varied diet, more natural elocution and smile, improved toning of facial muscles, improved appearance and self-confidence.

     

  • Is there an age limit beyond which implants can no longer be inserted?

    No, people of all ages can receive implants. Treatment success rates are as high among older patients as they are among younger age groups.

     

  • Is financing available?

    Clinique Veilleux Talbot proposes short - and medium - term financing with Accord D. Financing is available directly on site and payment terms are flexible.

     

OUR BUSINESS HOURS:

Monday
Tuesday

Wednesday
Thursday
Friday

8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
(on call-evening)
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
8:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

© Copyright 2013 Clinique Veilleux-Talbot. All rights reserved.
Design: NFdesign inc

Questions et réponses

Trouvez une réponse aux questions les plus fréquentes concernant les prothèses dentaires sur implants.

  • Est-ce que ça fait mal?

    Telle est la première question posée au sujet des implants. De toutes les techniques chirurgicales développées pour remédier à la mobilité des prothèse dentaires, la technique des implants ostéo-intégrés est de loin la moins traumatisante et la plus facile, à cause de sa douceur et de sa minutie.

    La pose d'implants dentaires n'est pas une chirurgie majeure. La douleur et les symptômes postopératoires sont équivalents à l'extraction de quelques dents. La très grande majorité des patients ayant reçu des traitements décrivent la période post-opératoire comme facile.

     

  • Les implants, est-ce que c'est pour la vie?

    Le premier patient traité selon la méthode d'implants ostéo-intégré, le fut en 1965 et ses implants sont encore fonctionnels. Depuis des millions de patients ont bénéficié de ces traitements. Cette expérience fait de la méthode Brânemark l'une des techniques médicales de pointe les plus expériementées.

    Cependant, il faut être conscient que des prévisions sur 30 ans n'ont pas la même signification pour une personne de 60 ans que pour une personne de 20 ans! Il faudra encore plusieurs décennies avant de tirer des conclusions pour une vie entière. De façon réaliste, nous pouvons espérer à tout le moins quelques décennies de bons services pour les prothèses ostéo-intégrées lorsque les conditions optimales sont réunies. Et l'expérience actuelle permet de penser que pour la majorité des patients, la plupart des implants dureront toute leur vie.

    Toutefois, comme toute prothèse (oui même comme les dents naturelles!), les dents de prothèses ostéo-intégrées peuvent s'user ou se briser et avoir besoin d'être réparées ou remplacées périodiquement.

    N.B. L'entretien ne fait pas partie du coût initial du traitement.

     

  • Quel est le coût des traitements?

    Au Canada, le coût des prothèses dentaires sur implants n'est pas défrayé par l'assurance maladie.

    Le coût peut varier grandement selon le type de traitement. Il est important de bien vous informer à l'avance de tous les coûts reliés aux différents traitements possibles. Certaines étapes des traitements peuvent être remboursées par les assurances dentaires. De plus, dans la plupart des cas, le coût de ces soins est déductible du revenu imposable.

    Pour la plupart des gens, le bien-être personnel est une priotité naturelle et légitime. La restauration du sourire par l'implantologie dentaire représente un investissement à long terme pour votre santé et votre qualité de vie. Si l'ont tient compte du coût des traitements conventionnels alternatifs, du remboursement des assurances s'il y a lieu, de la déduction fiscale et des modalités de financement, ces traitements deviennent accessibles pour la plupart des patients.

     

  • Vos prothèses dentaires vous font souffrir?

    Grâce à l'implantologie dentaire, on peut facilement éliminer les problèmes causés par l'instabilité de vos prothèses. Libérez-vous des douleurs, des ulcères, des diètes molles, de la gène en public ou dans l'intimité, des problèmes de mastication, de digestion et d'élocution, du stress musculaire et du vieillissement prématuré du visage causé par l'atrophie des maxillaires (diminution importante des gencives).

     

  • Quels sont les avantages de ces traitements?

    Les avantages de ces traitements : le plaisir de manger tous ses aliments préférés sans douleur et en toute sécurité, une digestion et une mastication normale, une diète améliorée et variée, une élocution et un sourire plus naturel, une meilleure tonicité des muscles du visage, une apparence et une confiance en soi améliorée.

     

  • Existe-t-il une limite d'âge pour recevoir des implants?

    Il n'y a pas d'âge pour recevoir des implants. Le taux de succès des traitements est aussi élevé pour les gens âgés que pour les autres catégories d'âges.

     

  • Existe-t-il un mode de financement?

    La clinique Veilleux Talbot propose un financement à court et moyen terme avec Accord D offert directement sur place avec des modalités de remboursement flexibles.

     

Nos heures d'ouverture :

Lundi
mardi

mercredi
jeudi
vendredi

8h30 - 17h00
8h30 - 17h00
(soirée-sur appel)
8h30 - 17h00
8h30 - 17h00
8h30 - 13h00

© Copyright 2013 Clinique Veilleux-Talbot. Tous droit réservés.