Have You Contemplated the Idea of a Mouth Guard?

Do you play sports or are you a member of a sports team? Or maybe your children or grandchildren? You may believe that every part of your body is protected from potential injuries, but what about your mouth? Have you contemplated the idea of having a mouth guard made?

Why?

Studies show that North Americans lose millions of teeth every year while playing sports. In fact, mouth injuries are much more common than one would believe. In the practice of sports, mouth injuries are the most common of all oro-facial

Role of a mouth guard

On top of its main role which is to protect the teeth and lips, an intraoral mouth guard also reduces the intensity of impacts that can cause concussions, neck injuries and jaw fractures, i.e., the most frequent injuries suffered while playing sports or practicing other athletic activities.

Protecteur buccal

The mouth guard is placed between the upper and lower teeth, separates the arches from one another and prevents contact between the condyles and the wall of the glenoid cavity. The mouth guard also prevents the condyles from moving upward and backward and prevents the teeth from injuring the tongue and lips in the event of an impact.

For all of the above reasons, Hockey Québec
recommends wearing a custom-made mouth guard.

Why opt for a custom-made mouth guard?

Protection

A custom-made mouth guard is more effective to prevent and reduce injuries. It is fabricated to protect the athlete’s individual tooth structure and is therefore better adapted to the athlete’s mouth, which reduces the risk of it being dislodged in the event of a violent impact.

Oxygenation

It is a recognized fact that a prefabricated mouth guard can restrict by up to 25% the amount of air breathed into the lungs and hinder performance by as much. A custom-made mouth guard will not hinder respiratory functions; to the contrary, it will provide increased oxygen to the lungs and therefore improve the athlete’s performance.

Elocution

Designed to fit like a glove, a custom-made mouth guard improves elocution and normal mouth movements. Not only does it provide you with an optimal level of protection but it also allows you to speak almost normally. That alone makes it a smart choice.

Comfort

A custom-made mouth guard is more comfortable, which will encourage the athlete to wear it and keep it in his mouth whenever he plays sports or does athletics. Users end up forgetting they’re even wearing it.

Mouth guards are particularly recommended for contact sports with high risks of falls:

  • Hockey
  • Soccer
  • Football
  • Downhill sports (skiing, sliding)
  • Basketball
  • Mountain biking
  • Etc
  • You may also download the brochure of
    the Association des Denturologistes du Québec titled:
    « Mon PB — Toute ma tête, toutes mes dents »

    (available in French only).

    OUR BUSINESS HOURS:

    Monday
    Tuesday

    Wednesday
    Thursday
    Friday

    8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
    8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
    (on call-evening)
    8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
    8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
    8:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

    © Copyright 2013 Clinique Veilleux-Talbot. Tous droit réservés.

Avez-vous songé à un Protecteur buccal?

Vous pratiquez des activités sportives ou encore vous faites partie d’une équipe sportive; ou ce sont vos enfants… ou vos petits-enfants. Vous croyez que tout le corps est bien protégé contre les accidents possibles; mais, qu’en est-il de la bouche…? Avez-vous songé à un protecteur buccal?

Pourquoi

Des études démontrent que, chaque année, des millions de dents sont perdues à l’occasion d’activités sportives en Amérique du Nord. De fait, les blessures à la bouche sont beaucoup plus nombreuses qu’on pourrait le penser; pendant les exercices de sport les traumatismes à la bouche sont les plus répandus de tous les accidents oro-faciaux.

Le rôle du protecteur buccal

En plus de remplir son rôle premier de protecteur des dents et des lèvres, le protecteur buccal intra oral réduit également l’intensité des forces pouvant causer des commotions cérébrales, des blessures au cou et des fractures mandibulaires, soit les blessures les plus fréquentes subies lors de sports d’équipe et plusieurs autres activités athlétiques.

Protecteur buccal

En s’interposant entre les dents, ce qui éloigne les deux arcades et prévient le contact des condyles avec la paroi de la fosse glénoïde, le protecteur buccal empêche le déplacement des condyles vers le haut et l’arrière. De plus, il empêche les dents de couper la langue et les joues à l’impact.

Pour toutes ces raisons, Hockey Québec recommande
le port du Protecteur buccal sur mesure.

Pourquoi un protecteur sur mesure?

Protection

Le protecteur buccal fait sur mesure s’avère plus efficace pour prévenir et réduire les blessures. Il est fabriqué de façon à protéger la structure dentaire personnelle de l’athlète. Il offre une adaptation supérieure et ne sera pas délogé dans l’éventualité d’un choc violent.

Oxygénation

Il est reconnu qu’un protecteur préfabriqué peut réduire jusqu’à 25% l’arrivée de l’air dans les poumons, ce qui signifie une performance réduite d’autant. Ce qui n’est pas le cas avec un protecteur buccal personnalisé lequel ne gêne pas la respiration, facilite une plus grande capacité d’accès de l’oxygène et donc permet une plus grande performance athlétique.

Élocution

Conçu pour s’adapter « comme un gant », le protecteur personnalisé permet une meilleure articulation ainsi que des mouvements de la bouche normaux. Tout en offrant une protection optimale, il permet presque de parler normalement. Cette seule caractéristique en fait un choix gagnant.

Confort

Étant plus confortable, l’athlète prendra plaisir à le porter et le gardera en bouche tout au long de son activité sportive ou athlétique. Finalement, on oublie qu’on en porte un.

Le protecteur buccal est particulièrement recommandé pour les sports où les contacts sont permis où les risques de chutes sont importantes :

  • Hockey
  • Soccer
  • Football
  • Sport de glisse
  • Basketball
  • Vélo de montagne
  • Etc
  • Télécharger également la brochure de L'Association
    des Denturologistes du Québec intitulée
    « Mon PB — Toute ma tête, toutes mes dents ».

    Nos heures d'ouverture :

    Lundi
    mardi

    mercredi
    jeudi
    vendredi

    8h30 - 17h00
    8h30 - 17h00
    (soirée-sur appel)
    8h30 - 17h00
    8h30 - 17h00
    8h30 - 13h00

    © Copyright 2013 Clinique Veilleux-Talbot. Tous droit réservés.